New NAE Members

Seven ASEE Members Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected seven ASEE members into its esteemed membership on February 9, including Richard K. Miller, who was selected specifically for contributions to engineering education. Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Below are the new ASEE-NAE members with their primary affiliation and reason for NAE election.

Barbara D. Boyan, professor; Price Gilbert Jr. Chair in Tissue Engineering; associate dean for research, College of Engineering; and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering, Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience; Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta. For engineering implant technologies for bone and cartilage repair.

Mary C. Boyce, Ford Professor of Engineering and department head of mechanical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge. For contributions to understanding the mechanics of deformation in engineered and natural polymeric solids.

Joan F. Brennecke, Keating-Crawford Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and director of the Energy Center, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Ind. For innovation in the use of ionic liquids and supercritical fluids for environmentally benign chemical processing.

Mujid S. Kazimi, TEPCO Professor of Nuclear Engineering, professor of mechanical engineering, and director of the Center for Advanced Nuclear Energy Systems, Massachusetts Institute Technology, Cambridge. For contributions to technologies for the nuclear fuel cycle and reactor safety.

Antonios Georgios Mikos, Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; director, J.W. Cox Laboratory for Biomedical Engineering; and director, Center for Excellence in Tissue Engineering; Rice University, Houston. For advances in tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, biomaterials, and drug delivery, including development of biodegradable polymers.

Richard K. Miller, president and professor of mechanical engineering, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, Needham, Mass. For establishing a new paradigm for undergraduate engineering education and establishment of Olin College.

Babatunde A. Ogunnaike, interim dean; William L. Friend Chair of Chemical Engineering; and professor, Center for Systems Biology - DBI; University of Delaware, Newark. For advances in process systems, process engineering practice, and systems engineering education.