ASEE ACADEMY OF FELLOW ANNUAL MEETING

June 29, 2011
Vancouver, BC


Minutes

1. Call to Order: After several whacks of the Bill Wilhelm Gravel, ASEE Fellows Chair Carl Locke called the meeting to order at 9:10 am.

2. ASEE Executive Director Comments: Due to his schedule, ASEE Executive Director, Dr. Norman Fortenberry, next addressed the assembled group which had just consumed a delicious breakfast. Norm told Fellows that although he did not guarantee that he would make any changes, but he invited the group to let him know of any situations they see in ASEE that should be changed.

3. Recognition of ASEE and Fellows Officers attending: Chair Locke introduced Vice-Chair/Secretary Mary Anderson-Rowland and Fellow Newsletter Editor Frank Gourley.

4. Special Recognition: Bill LeBold was recognized for attending his 50th ASEE meeting. Bill has been a very active ASEE member over the years and has only missed a few of the annual meetings.

5. New Fellow Introductions: Twelve new Fellows were then recognized and introduced themselves to the group:

• Linda Krute
• Henry Haynes
• Krishna Vedula
• Susan Blanchard
• Leah Jamieson
• Mary Besterfield-Sacre
• Larry Richards
• Ken Galloway
• Ron Rockland
• Carol Richardson
• Nancy Denton
• Jackie Sullivan

6. Not-so-New Fellow Introductions: The New Fellow introductions were followed by all of the rest of the attendees introducing themselves.

7. ASEE President-Elect Comments – Don Giddens: Don Giddens then addressed the group. He noted that his primary recent accomplishment was being the Chair of the Search Committee for a new Executive Director for ASEE which resulted in the hire of Norman Fortenberry.

8. ASEE President Comments - Renata Engel: Renata also addressed the Fellows: She said that she has emphasized membership both in government and in the university as well as member services. She expressed her appreciation of the Fellows.

9. Fellow Walter Buchanan was introduced as the incoming ASEE President-Elect.

10. Greetings from Absent Fellows: Greetings were read from the following Fellows who were unable to attend: Bill Wilheim, John Weiss, Merle Baker, Angie Pernham, and John Haywood (who said that he can’t catch up with Bill LeBold on number of meetings anyway).

11. Recognition of Breakfast Sponsors & ASEE Staff Who Helped During the Year: The Fellows expressed appreciation to ASEE staff Patti Greenawalt, Dwight Wardel, Sandra Wingate-Bey, and Tonya Jackson.

12. Report on Lifetime Achievement Award – Lyle Feisel for John Weese: Lyle was thanked for his service as the Interim Executive Director for ASEE. Lyle is also the prime mover in establishing a new Life Member Award. The award needs a little more funding in order to be established.

13. Old Business: There was no old business.

14. New Business:

a. Anyone interested in being on the nominating committee should let Carl Locke know. He will use email to appoint a nominating committee for the determination of new Fellows officers.
b. Frank Gourley appreciates any feedback, appointments, comments, news for the Fellows Newsletter.
c. The next meeting will be held in San Antonio, Texas on June 13, 2012.
d. Photos of New Fellows and Award Recipients will be taken after the meeting.
e. Good of the Order? No other business.

15. Adjournment: With the bang of the gavel, Chair Locke called the meeting adjourned at 10:00 am.

Attendance:

Name / E-Mail / Comments

1. Lyle Feisel L.Feisel@ieee.org Buy low. Sell high.
2. Jerry Thuesen gthuesen@isye.gatech.edu Great meeting
3. Frank Burris frank.e.burris@gmail.com HAPPY FEET!
4. Linda Krute Linda_Krute@ncsu.edu
5. Lucy Morse morse@mail.ucf.edu 
6. Ray Haynes docray62@aol.com  
7. Andrew Pytel axp5@psu.edu
8. Joe Rencis jjrencis@uark.edu
9. Marilyn Barger mbarger@hcc.pl.edu
10. Jed Lyons lyons@sc.edu
11. Joseph A. Shaeiwitz joseph.shaeiwitz@mail.wvu.edu
12. John W. Steadman jsteadman@usouthol.edu
13. Sarah Rajala rajala@bagley.msstate.edu
14. Krishna Vedula Krishna_vedula@aml.edu
15. Edwin C. Jones e.c.jones@ieee.org
16. Tom Roberts tcr@ksu.edu
17. Dave Irwin irwinjd@auburn.edu
18. Walt Buchanan buchananw@tamu.edu
19. Adeyinka Adeykrn adeyukrkn.adeyinka@hamptonic.edu
20. Teri Teed-Rhodes trhoads@purdue.edu
21. Bev Watford deuce@vt.edu
22. Renata Engel rse1@psu.edu
23. Don Gibbons don.giddens@coe.gatech.edu
24. Karl Smith Ksmith@umn.edu
25. Ken Galloway Ken.galloway@vanderbilt.edu
26. John Orr Orr@wpi.edu
27. Larry G. Richards LGR@virginia.edu
28. Ashok Agrawal AAGRAWAL@STLCC.edu
29. Bill LeBold Billlebold@aol.com Great! Have heart! My 50th Anniversary!
30. Nancy Denton dentonnil@purdue.edu
31. Nick Altiero altiero@tuland.edu
32. Marilyn Dyrud Marilyn.dyrud@oit.edu
33. Carol Richardson carik@rit.edu
34. Ron Rockland Rockland@njit.edu
35. Eugene M. DeLoatch Eugene.deloatch@morgan.edu
36. Frank Croft croft.3@osu.edu
37. Dennis J Fallon dennis.fallon@citadel.edu
38. Ron Barr rbarr@mail.utexas.edu
39. Michael O’Hair mtohair@purdue.edu
40. Robert H. Todd Todd@byu.edu
41. Jackie Sullivan Jacquelyn.sullivan@colorado.edu
42. Carl Locke lok@ku.edu
43. Mary Anderson-Rowland mary.anderson@asu.edu
44. Marvin Criswell marvin.criswell@colostate.edu
45. William Oakes oakes@purdue.edu
46. Larry Wolf LawrenceJWolf@comcasy.met
47. Larry Shuman shuman@pitt.edu
48. Mary Besterfield-Sacre mbsacre@pitt.edu
49. LeahJamieson lhj@purdue.edu
50. Frank Gourley fgoourley@wvutech.edu
51. Susan Blanchard sblancha@fgcu.edu
52. Paul Percy peercy@engr.wisc.edu
53. Jack Lohmann jlohmann@gatech.edu
54. Pat Fox psfox@iupui.edu
55. Jim Melsa melsa@iastate.edu


Respectully submitted,

Mary Anderson-Rowland
Fellows Vice/Chair/Secretary

ASEE ACADEMY OF FELLOW ANNUAL MEETING

June 29, 2011
Vancouver, BC


Minutes

1. Call to Order: After several whacks of the Bill Wilhelm Gravel, ASEE Fellows Chair Carl Locke called the meeting to order at 9:10 am.

2. ASEE Executive Director Comments: Due to his schedule, ASEE Executive Director, Dr. Norman Fortenberry, next addressed the assembled group which had just consumed a delicious breakfast. Norm told Fellows that although he did not guarantee that he would make any changes, but he invited the group to let him know of any situations they see in ASEE that should be changed.

3. Recognition of ASEE and Fellows Officers attending: Chair Locke introduced Vice-Chair/Secretary Mary Anderson-Rowland and Fellow Newsletter Editor Frank Gourley.

4. Special Recognition: Bill LeBold was recognized for attending his 50th ASEE meeting. Bill has been a very active ASEE member over the years and has only missed a few of the annual meetings.

5. New Fellow Introductions: Twelve new Fellows were then recognized and introduced themselves to the group:

• Linda Krute
• Henry Haynes
• Krishna Vedula
• Susan Blanchard
• Leah Jamieson
• Mary Besterfield-Sacre
• Larry Richards
• Ken Galloway
• Ron Rockland
• Carol Richardson
• Nancy Denton
• Jackie Sullivan

6. Not-so-New Fellow Introductions: The New Fellow introductions were followed by all of the rest of the attendees introducing themselves.

7. ASEE President-Elect Comments – Don Giddens: Don Giddens then addressed the group. He noted that his primary recent accomplishment was being the Chair of the Search Committee for a new Executive Director for ASEE which resulted in the hire of Norman Fortenberry.

8. ASEE President Comments - Renata Engel: Renata also addressed the Fellows: She said that she has emphasized membership both in government and in the university as well as member services. She expressed her appreciation of the Fellows.

9. Fellow Walter Buchanan was introduced as the incoming ASEE President-Elect.

10. Greetings from Absent Fellows: Greetings were read from the following Fellows who were unable to attend: Bill Wilheim, John Weiss, Merle Baker, Angie Pernham, and John Haywood (who said that he can’t catch up with Bill LeBold on number of meetings anyway).

11. Recognition of Breakfast Sponsors & ASEE Staff Who Helped During the Year: The Fellows expressed appreciation to ASEE staff Patti Greenawalt, Dwight Wardel, Sandra Wingate-Bey, and Tonya Jackson.

12. Report on Lifetime Achievement Award – Lyle Feisel for John Weese: Lyle was thanked for his service as the Interim Executive Director for ASEE. Lyle is also the prime mover in establishing a new Life Member Award. The award needs a little more funding in order to be established.

13. Old Business: There was no old business.

14. New Business:

a. Anyone interested in being on the nominating committee should let Carl Locke know. He will use email to appoint a nominating committee for the determination of new Fellows officers.
b. Frank Gourley appreciates any feedback, appointments, comments, news for the Fellows Newsletter.
c. The next meeting will be held in San Antonio, Texas on June 13, 2012.
d. Photos of New Fellows and Award Recipients will be taken after the meeting.
e. Good of the Order? No other business.

15. Adjournment: With the bang of the gavel, Chair Locke called the meeting adjourned at 10:00 am.

Attendance:

Name / E-Mail / Comments

1. Lyle Feisel L.Feisel@ieee.org Buy low. Sell high.
2. Jerry Thuesen gthuesen@isye.gatech.edu Great meeting
3. Frank Burris frank.e.burris@gmail.com HAPPY FEET!
4. Linda Krute Linda_Krute@ncsu.edu
5. Lucy Morse morse@mail.ucf.edu 
6. Ray Haynes docray62@aol.com  
7. Andrew Pytel axp5@psu.edu
8. Joe Rencis jjrencis@uark.edu
9. Marilyn Barger mbarger@hcc.pl.edu
10. Jed Lyons lyons@sc.edu
11. Joseph A. Shaeiwitz joseph.shaeiwitz@mail.wvu.edu
12. John W. Steadman jsteadman@usouthol.edu
13. Sarah Rajala rajala@bagley.msstate.edu
14. Krishna Vedula Krishna_vedula@aml.edu
15. Edwin C. Jones e.c.jones@ieee.org
16. Tom Roberts tcr@ksu.edu
17. Dave Irwin irwinjd@auburn.edu
18. Walt Buchanan buchananw@tamu.edu
19. Adeyinka Adeykrn adeyukrkn.adeyinka@hamptonic.edu
20. Teri Teed-Rhodes trhoads@purdue.edu
21. Bev Watford deuce@vt.edu
22. Renata Engel rse1@psu.edu
23. Don Gibbons don.giddens@coe.gatech.edu
24. Karl Smith Ksmith@umn.edu
25. Ken Galloway Ken.galloway@vanderbilt.edu
26. John Orr Orr@wpi.edu
27. Larry G. Richards LGR@virginia.edu
28. Ashok Agrawal AAGRAWAL@STLCC.edu
29. Bill LeBold Billlebold@aol.com Great! Have heart! My 50th Anniversary!
30. Nancy Denton dentonnil@purdue.edu
31. Nick Altiero altiero@tuland.edu
32. Marilyn Dyrud Marilyn.dyrud@oit.edu
33. Carol Richardson carik@rit.edu
34. Ron Rockland Rockland@njit.edu
35. Eugene M. DeLoatch Eugene.deloatch@morgan.edu
36. Frank Croft croft.3@osu.edu
37. Dennis J Fallon dennis.fallon@citadel.edu
38. Ron Barr rbarr@mail.utexas.edu
39. Michael O’Hair mtohair@purdue.edu
40. Robert H. Todd Todd@byu.edu
41. Jackie Sullivan Jacquelyn.sullivan@colorado.edu
42. Carl Locke lok@ku.edu
43. Mary Anderson-Rowland mary.anderson@asu.edu
44. Marvin Criswell marvin.criswell@colostate.edu
45. William Oakes oakes@purdue.edu
46. Larry Wolf LawrenceJWolf@comcasy.met
47. Larry Shuman shuman@pitt.edu
48. Mary Besterfield-Sacre mbsacre@pitt.edu
49. LeahJamieson lhj@purdue.edu
50. Frank Gourley fgoourley@wvutech.edu
51. Susan Blanchard sblancha@fgcu.edu
52. Paul Percy peercy@engr.wisc.edu
53. Jack Lohmann jlohmann@gatech.edu
54. Pat Fox psfox@iupui.edu
55. Jim Melsa melsa@iastate.edu


Respectully submitted,

Mary Anderson-Rowland
Fellows Vice/Chair/Secretary