Excellence in Engineering Technology Education

Frederick J. Berger Award

Dr. Frederick J. Berger has been acclaimed for his many noteworthy contributions to engineering technology education, including his many years of service at City University of New York and as the long-time Executive Director and sponsor of Tau Alpha Pi. Tau Alpha Pi is the professional honor society for engineering technology that was founded in 1953 by Jesse DeFore at the Southern Technical Institute (now Southern Polytechnic State University) in Marietta, Georgia. From the 1960's to the 1990's, Dr. Berger oversaw the dramatic growth of Tau Alpha Pi into a viable national honor society.

The purpose of the Frederick J. Berger Award is to recognize and encourage both programmatic and individual excellence in engineering technology education. It is presented to both the primary implementing individual and to the engineering technology school or department that have demonstrated leadership in curriculum, scholarly contributions, innovative techniques or administration in engineering technology education. The award jointly recognizes the individual and the activity, the individual and the program, the individual and the department or the individual and the school.

The Award: Established in 1990 by Dr. Frederick J. Berger, the award to the individual consists of a $500 honorarium and a bronze medallion, with representations of Professor Berger and of the Tau Alpha Pi logo inscribed. The academic department recognized receives a $500 honorarium and an inscribed plaque.

Qualifications: An individual must have made a significant impact on a qualifying engineering technology school or program by implementing one or more of the following criteria:

  • Exemplary and discernible contributions to engineering technology education and to the advancement of the professional status of engineering technology students.
  • Outstanding curricular development, evidence of superior subject matter competence by students, course development and updating and academic student advisement.
  • Scholarly contributions including improvement of engineering technology education through authoring textbooks, syllabi and computer applications; active membership in professional societies and participation in professional development activities.
  • Innovative techniques involving excellence in teaching and the ability to guide students to scholastic achievement, character growth and leadership potential. Innovative techniques involving laboratory updating, equipment acquisition and utilization, teaching models and aids as well as the integration of lab exercises with lecture presentations.
  • Administrative support for course development; placement assistance; acquiring quality buildings and facilities; linking with industry and selecting, retaining and developing outstanding faculty.

A qualifying institution must be an ASEE technical college member, and must have at least one associate or baccalaureate level program accredited by TAC/ABET. A qualifying department must be housed within a qualifying institution. The institution must also have an active Tau Alpha Pi chapter on campus.

Nomination: Nominations should be made by an engineering technology school or department in fulfillment of the qualifying criteria. Because it is the intent of the award to recognize the implementing individual, as well as the qualifying activities, a curriculum vita (maximum of two pages) for the person most associated with the activity must be included in the nomination packet. The nomination is to be signed by the dean (or the top administrator supervising the engineering technology program) and the president of the institution, indicating that they also will financially support the attendance of the recipient at the awards luncheon and the ASEE Annual Awards banquet.

The nomination shall not exceed six pages excluding the vita. Additional supporting materials will not be considered by the selection committee. One original and seven copies should be forwarded to ASEE Headquarters by January 15th.

Renomination: No individual or department shall receive the award more than once, and no institution shall receive two awards within any five year period. An individual or department may be renominated. A nomination may be reactivated for up to two additional years after the initial submission upon written request from the appropriate official of the institution in which the department is housed or where the nominee was employed during the activities recognized by the award.

Past Award Winners

James H. McGraw Award

James H. McGraw was recognized as the dean of industrial publishers. He spent some 40 years in the publishing business, beginning as a teacher turned subscription salesman and going on to lay the foundation of one of the largest industrial publishing organizations in the world.

The purpose of the James H. McGraw Award is to recognize outstanding service in engineering technology education. It is presented to a faculty member, author, or administrator who is, or has been, affiliated with an institution that provides engineering technology education.

The Award: Established by the McGraw-Hill Book Company in 1950, the award is now cosponsored by McGraw-Hill Higher Education, the Engineering Technology Council, and the Engineering Technology Division of ASEE. The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium and a plaque.

Qualifications: This award recognizes contributions to engineering technology education. The following achievements are required:

  • Clearly discernible contributions to engineering technology education.
  • Outstanding achievement in one or more of the following activities specifically related to engineering technology education:
  1. Teaching: evidence of outstanding subject matter competence, student guidance and course development;
  2. Publications: textbooks, articles, reports, bulletins and tests;
  3. Administration: outstanding contributions to curriculum development, cooperation with industry, student selection and placement as well as buildings and facilities;
  4. Other activities: participation in engineering technology studies and surveys and leadership in local and national institute groups.

Eligibility: Nominations may be made by any person, organization or group other than members of the James H. McGraw Award Committee and the employees of McGraw-Hill Higher Education. Members of the committee, in any capacity, and employees of McGraw-Hill Higher Education are not eligible to receive the award. No individual shall receive the award more than once.

Past Award Winners