The New ASEE site is live! Access archived ASEE site here: Click Here



EcoCAR EV Challenge

Naval Horizons

The U.S. Department of EnergyGeneral Motors, ASEE, and MathWorks are pleased to announce the launch of the EcoCAR EV Challenge, the latest DOE-sponsored Advanced Vehicle Technology Competition (AVTC) series. 

EcoCAR will provide university students an unparalleled experiential learning experience tackling the toughest challenges facing the mobility industry and will build a clean energy workforce that reflects the diversity of our nation.

The four-year competition will challenge up to 14 North American universities to engineer a next generation battery electric vehicle (BEV) that utilizes automation and vehicle-to-everything (V2X) connectivity to implement energy efficient customer-pleasing features and meet the decarbonization needs of the automotive industry.

The competition will also challenge teams to apply innovative solutions to address equity and electrification challenges in the future of mobility and implement advanced powertrain, charging, and thermal systems to use grid electricity intelligently.

Get your students behind the wheel and ahead of the competition. The program kicks-off in fall 2022 and is now accepting applications from universities. January 20, 2022 – Applications due.

Learn more about the EcoCAR EV Challenge at